We want you to have the best possible experience at Anderson Hemmat as well as stay secure while surfing the internet...
For this you'll need to use a supported browser so please upgrade to the latest version of the internet browser you prefer using.
PLEASE NOTE: We do NOT support Microsoft Internet Explorer, ONLY Microsoft's Edge browser!
The browsers listed above are the top three. These are secure and trusted by everyone. If you have any questions contact the web manager by calling our main office at 303.782.9999.
Highway hypnosis causes drivers to forget that they are on the road and can lead to devastating consequences. Lack of awareness can also leave many motorists in the lane furthest to the left, even if faster cars are waiting for them to move over. There is one national law, the Uniform Vehicle Code, that talks about keeping to the right when possible. Expect Colorado State Patrol troopers not to make light of the practice:
Left Lane Accident Statistics in Colorado
According to KUSA, nearly 500 crashes were a result of lane violations, nearly as many as those caused by driving under the influence. State law dictates that if people are on a road with a speed limit of at least 65 MPH, they have to stay in the right-hand lane or potentially face a ticket. It's most common among those who are on two-lane roads.
Distracted driving accidents can come not just because slower drivers should be in the right-hand lane but because "Colorado law permits passing in the right lane," according to a document published by the State Patrol. Since these are at cross-purposes, accidents are more likely to remain a huge concern.
Penalties, Large and Small, for Left-Lane Camping
Penalties for Colorado drivers who are caught traveling below the speed of traffic around them are relatively minor. The fine is just $41.20 for a surcharge and three points when a Colorado driver can carry up to 11 points on his or her license. That's far less than in other states who have taken a dim view of the practice. Hanging out in the left lane without passing could cost a driver in Indiana up to $500. In New Jersey, it is still more than in Colorado with a penalty of up to $300.
Of course, for people in Colorado, the risks are much greater. As noted above, the practice of "stay right and pass on the left," ensures some regularity among traffic. Without that, Colorado drivers must work together to prevent car accidents. If slower drivers can keep to the right without risking the $40 ticket and drivers moving slightly more quickly than the norm can stay to the left, things will work out.
As always, everyone from the CSP to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration argue that drivers should reduce distractions and be mindful. Sadly, too few remember that this means those hugging both the right and left sides of the road.
Getting Help with Your Colorado Car Accident Case
If you've been in an accident with a distracted driver, your injuries could be significant. Medical bills might pile up and lost income could make bills tough to pay. Learn more about your legal rights: Get a free consultation with an Anderson Hemmat accident attorney today.
Call (303) 782-9999 or use the easy case evaluation form to your right for a confidential review of the facts of your potential case. We look forward to helping you get the best possible outcome.
SHARE THIS POST:
Copyright © 2020 Anderson Hemmat, LLC -
5613 DTC Parkway Suite 150
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. No information should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. Viewing this website or submitting information does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.